Are Wisconsin Drivers Required To Have Insurance In Case Of Crash?

On behalf of Peterson, Berk & Cross, S.C.

Drivers in many states are legally required to have car insurance. Wisconsin is among those states. The law says that motorists must carry auto insurance, except in limited cases where another form of security like a surety bond or personal funds can be substituted.

According to the state Commissioner of Insurance, for policies issued or renewed as of Nov. 1, 2011, motorists must have at least $25,000 for injury or death of one person in a car accident. The policy must have a minimum of $50,000 coverage for injury or death of two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage.

Note that this coverage is not to pay for the policy holder’s own personal injury. The insurance company pays when the holder is responsible for a crash that causes serious and/or fatal injury to someone else. Alternatively, the policy may kick in when a family member living with you or a person using your vehicle with your consent causes the wreck.

Besides this, Wisconsin drivers must also have uninsured motorist coverage. This is for if you, your family or passengers ever get hurt in a car accident with an uninsured driver. Similar coverage for collisions with underinsured drivers is also available.

This is necessary because, though the law requires drivers to have insurance, some people break the law and drive without insurance, or with an insufficient policy. If they hit somebody else, their victims may have to turn to their own policy to pay for hospital bills and similar costs.

In some cases, another option may be to sue the driver for damages. A personal injury attorney can evaluate your case and explain your rights.