3 Types of Compensation for a Personal Injury Claim

On behalf of Peterson, Berk & Cross, S.C.

The first step in obtaining financial compensation after suffering an injury is being aware of the three types of damages a plaintiff can receive as part of an insurance settlement or personal injury verdict.

1. Compensatory Damages

These damages are often the most identifiable and concrete and include compensation for:

  • Past and future medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of earning capacity
  • Loss of consortium
  • Interference with marital relationship

An attorney can seek out a definitive amount of compensation based upon documents obtained during litigation.

2. General Damages

General damages are less specific and not as identifiable as compensatory damages and include compensation for pain and suffering, disfigurement, and significant scars. Factors that should be considered when evaluating the value of general damages are the plaintiff’s age, occupation, income, as well as the severity and permanency of injuries.

3. Punitive Damages

Punitive damages are meant to punish the liable party for their negligence and include compensation for any injury caused by the reprehensible behavior of another party. The standard for obtaining punitive damages is high; these are the most difficult damages to obtain in a personal injury case.

If you or a loved one is suffering from a personal injury and is seeking compensation, do not hesitate to reach out to our office. We can help you seek compensation for these three types of damages depending on the specifics of your personal injury case.